How to use Japanese in Endless

Hello,

I bought a new computer, the OS is ENDLESS. I tried to use japanese language and choose Anthy for keyboard layout. But I couldn’t type japanese.

I don’t know what I should do. Is there any way to use japanese?

Thanks

@gat0: Thanks for reporting this. I think it’s a problem with the Japanese (Anthy) input method. The keyboards that seem to display Japanese characters are Japanese (kana) and Japanese (macintosh).

I’m not an expert in Japanese by any means though, so I can’t tell if they have all of the characters that you’ll need. Can you try switching into one of these and letting me know if it works?

###Here’s how to start using the Japanese (kana) keyboard:

1. Search for “Language” in the global search and select the Region & Language result.
  1. Add a new keyboard layout. Click on the + button to add the Japanese (Kana) keyboard (I’ve circled it in red).

You can view the keyboard layout by clicking on the keyboard icon (I’ve circled that in blue).

1. Make sure you’re in Japanese (kana) mode. :slight_smile: You should now be able to use that keyboard and type Japanese characters. Just make sure that you have that keyboard selected by making sure that there’s a “ja” to the right of the time on the bottom bar. You can use that language toggle to go from the Japanese keyboard to the English keyboard.

###ProTip:
You can switch between keyboards (like English and Japanese) easily by pressing Super + Space on your keyboard. (The Super button is often a Windows key)

@gat0 Yes, thank you for reporting this. I just confirmed that the anthy input method is broken on Endless OS 3.1. It is working on my development laptop, so I expect we will be able to fix it for the upcoming 3.2 release. For what its worth, anthy is a phonetic input method, which works by typing the English/Latin characters that sound like the Japanese word.